archive-sg.com » SG » R » READON.SG

Total: 260

Choose link from "Titles, links and description words view":

Or switch to "Titles and links view".
  • Above all things - Read On
    story of Everest she said a fervent smile sweeping across her face creasing the corners of her eyes Tell me about this mountain that s stealing you away from me In 1924 George Mallory departs on his third expedition to reach the summit of Mount Everest Left behind in Cambridge George s young wife Ruth along with the rest of a war ravaged England anticipates news they hope will reclaim

    Original URL path: http://readon.sg/det_14711270.aspx (2013-04-28)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Supreme justice a novel of suspense - Read On
    a prominent justice resigns leaving a vacancy Then for no apparent reason another justice is mysteriously attacked Dana Cutler one of the heroes from Margolin s bestselling Executive Privilege is quietly called in to investigate She looks for links between the Woodruff appeal and the ominous incidents in the justices chambers which eventually lead her to a shoot out that took place years ago on a small freighter docked upriver

    Original URL path: http://readon.sg/det_14707424.aspx (2013-04-28)
    Open archived version from archive

  • iPad for the over 50s in simple steps / Marc Campbell. - Read On
    general reference Data processing Computer science iPad for the over 50s in simple steps Marc Campbell iPad for the over 50s in simple steps Marc Campbell Author Campbell Marc Writer on technology Publisher Harlow England Pearson Education 2013 ISBN 9780273785415

    Original URL path: http://readon.sg/det_14715759.aspx (2013-04-28)
    Open archived version from archive

  • The lost art of mixing - Read On
    the reader to grow very attached robbing each of depth Still Bauermeister s prose is strong particularly when it comes to food and her novel brings to life the adage be kinder than necessary for everyone you meet is fighting some kind of battle Agent Amy Berkower Writers House Jan c Copyright PWxyz LLC All rights reserved Book list From Booklist Copyright American Library Association Used with permission In the relative hush of the predinner rush Lillian quietly assesses her surroundings She needs to prepare for the evening s specials and she needs to take inventory for the week s orders Ever since she opened her own restaurant her brain seems to be constantly buzzing always planning for the busy hours ahead Even the most careful preparations however couldn t have allowed Lillian to anticipate the twist her life is about to take Using Lillian s restaurant as the hub for a cast of widely varied characters Bauermeister explores the intersections of community food belonging and memory With Isabelle the elderly matriarch whose faculties are rapidly fading Chloe the feisty sous chef who s positive she ll never be able to trust a man and other friends and acquaintances an interconnected and heartfelt story unwinds In her third novel Bauermeister displays her admirable talent for ensemble fiction allowing various characters to share narration duties Fans of Deborah Copaken Kogan and Meg Waite Clayton will enjoy the novel s intertwined narratives and shared experiences Warm funny and deeply comforting The Lost Art of Mixing is a delight Turza Stephanie Copyright 2010 Booklist Terms of Use Summary In this sequel to The School of Essential Ingredients Lillian is back cooking on all four burners at her own restaurant Best seller Bauermeisters book will benefit from both book club promotions and a reading

    Original URL path: http://readon.sg/det_14704844.aspx (2013-04-28)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Playing for pizza - Read On
    never completely trusted Arnie and there was no plausible reason to start now What did Arnie know about traumatic head injuries or whatever mortal wound someone had inflicted Rick closed his eyes again and breathed deeply What happened he asked softly Arnie hesitated and ran a hand over his hairless head He glanced at his watch 4 00 p m so his client had been knocked out for almost twenty four hours Not long enough he thought sadly What s the last thing you remember Arnie asked as he carefully put both elbows on the bed s railing and leaned forward After a pause Rick managed to say I remember Bannister coming at me Arnie smacked his lips and said No Rick That was the second concussion two years ago in Dallas when you were with the Cowboys Rick groaned at the memory and it wasn t pleasant for Arnie either because his client had been squatting on the sideline looking at a certain cheerleader when the play came his way and he was squashed helmetless by a ton of flying bodies Dallas cut him two weeks later and found another third string quarterback Last year you were in Seattle Rick and now you re in Cleveland the Browns remember Rick remembered and groaned a bit louder What day is it he asked eyes open now Monday The game was yesterday Do you recall any of it Not if you re lucky Arnie wanted to say I ll get a nurse They ve been waiting Not yet Arnie Talk to me What happened You threw a pass then you got sandwiched Purcell came on a weak side blitz and took your head off You never saw him Why was I in the game Now that was an excellent question one

    Original URL path: http://readon.sg/det_14707411.aspx (2013-04-28)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Fifty minerals that changed the course of history - Read On
    offers the reader an opportunity to delve further into each mineral s historical significance in an accessible way Minerals are organized according to scientific nomenclature detracting from the ease of use as a quick reference The order of entries alphabetized according to their formal name forces the reader of the full text to jump between disparate eras and cultures Had Chaline organized these topics chronologically the full text may have flowed more fluidly However simply organizing alphabetically by common name may also have enhanced the ability of the reader to access desired information more quickly A short bibliography and listing of helpful websites is offered at the end of the monograph As this is intended to be a brief guide and not a specialist level scientific reference it may not be useful in higher education or for professional use However as an interesting affordable and readable guide this work is recommended for most school and public libraries Smith Becca Copyright 2010 Booklist Terms of Use Summary Praise for Fifty Animals that Changed the Course of History It s the sort of book that has you saying Wow listen to this and Did you know to companions over and over The Globe and Mail Fifty Minerals that Changed the Course of History is a beautifully presented guide to the minerals that have had the greatest impact on human civilization These are the materials used from the Stone Age to the First and Second Industrial Revolutions to the Nuclear Age and include metals ores alloys salts rocks sodium mercury steel and uranium The book also includes minerals used as currency as jewelry and as lay and religious ornamentation when combined with gem minerals like diamonds amber coral and jade Entries are organized by name and considered for their influence in four categories

    Original URL path: http://readon.sg/det_14694937.aspx (2013-04-28)
    Open archived version from archive

  • To save everything, click here : the folly of technological solutionism / Evgeny Morozov. - Read On
    solutionism affect our society once deeply political moral and irresolvable dilemmas are recast as uncontroversial and easily manageable matters of technological efficiency What if some such problems are simply vices in disguise What if some friction in communication is productive and some hypocrisy in politics necessary The temptation of the digital age is to fix everything 151 from crime to corruption to pollution to obesity 151 by digitally quantifying tracking

    Original URL path: http://readon.sg/det_14715123.aspx (2013-04-28)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Benediction - Read On
    Details Home Fiction B Benediction Benediction Author Haruf Kent Publisher Alfred A Knopf 2013 ISBN 9780307959881 Find in Library Reader Reviews

    Original URL path: http://readon.sg/det_14711274.aspx (2013-04-28)
    Open archived version from archive



  •